Leadership is the capacity to translate vision into reality.

Warren Bennis

Chief Maurice Jones

Chief Maurice Jones

Secretary, Executive Committee

Maurice Jones was born May 21, 1965 in Erie Pennsylvania to Ms. Patricia A. Jones and Mr. Alfred R. Lawson.  He graduated from Strong Vincent High School in 1984, moved to the Great State of Texas and City of Dallas in 1984 6 days after graduation. Upon moving to Dallas, he went to work for his dad Mr. Alfred R. Lawson at their McDonalds Restaurant Franchise which they owned and operated several locations in the Oak Cliff Area of Dallas. Mr. Jones then started to pursue the Law Enforcement Career in 1994, Graduating in January 1995 as the Vice-President of Cedar Valley Police Academy Class #15. Upon graduating from CVC Police Academy, he worked in the capacity as a Reserve Deputy Constable, he then founded and owned Legacy Limousines Executive Car Service. After the decline of the Executive Car Service due to the unfortunate tragedy of 9-11-2001, he went to work for The Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) as a Bus Operator. In his 13 plus years at DART, he Founded and Commanded the DART Transportation Honor Guard Program in 2009 and upon his departure from DART in 2015 he was a member of the Bus Operations Management Division as a Field Supervisor. Also, in 2015 founded The Dallas Area Patrol And Protection Services (DAPPS), a Professional Private Security Company licensed by the Texas Department of Public Safety. DAPPS has afforded Chief Maurice Jones the opportunity to support several Businesses, Events and Organizations on a Daily, Monthly and Yearly Basis. DAPPS has grown to be a well-respected Private Security Business throughout the Dallas/ Fort Worth Metroplex. Chief Jones is also an active member of the:

DeSoto Chamber of Commerce (Executive Board)

The Cedar Valley College Alumni Advisory Committee

President of the North Texas Region of ASSIST (Associated Security Services and Investigators of the State of Texas)
DeSoto Texas “Man of the Year 2019”

Member of North Texas Crime Prevention Association (NTCPA) and the Texas Crime Prevention Association (TCPA)

Previous Article Charles Williams
Next Article Dr. Nikki Ceaser-Small